Hold the fort

Every Sunday in my church we sing Hold the Fort, a lesser-known hymn written by Philip P. Bliss, a prolific hymn writer who used to lead singing for Dwight L Moody. I think about that hymn as I read David’s psalm today with my husband at breakfast. The chorus of the hymn says, “Hold the fort for I am coming, Jesus signals still. Wave the answer back to heaven By Thy grace, we will.” Sometimes the way is heavy and painful and we can become disillusioned. Jesus tells us to trust Him. He is coming. All He asks is that we hold on.
sunrise and incoming tide

Psalm 37:3-9

New Living Translation (NLT)

Trust in the Lord and do good.
Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.
Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you your heart’s desires.

Commit everything you do to the Lord.
Trust him, and he will help you.
He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn,
and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.

Be still in the presence of the Lord,
and wait patiently for him to act.
Don’t worry about evil people who prosper
or fret about their wicked schemes.

Stop being angry!
Turn from your rage!
Do not lose your temper—
it only leads to harm.
For the wicked will be destroyed,
but those who trust in the Lord will possess the land.

He is with us,

Dawn

8 comments on “Hold the fort

  1. Dawn, I. love. this. psalm! I especially like the way the KJV puts the first line: “Fret not thyself because of evildoers” — because that’s exactly what we/I tend to do, fret *ourselves*! There’s so much good instruction for countering that self-fretting in this psalm, I have been working on memorizing it, even though it is a long one. Yep, an excellent Psalm to help us “hold on!”
    Blessings to you as you keep hanging in there!

    • You and Cora always bring us back to the Word and, now, memorizing the Word. You two surely sharpen me, like iron on this iron hard heart of mine (Proverbs 27:17), such good friends.

  2. Dawn, I am taking a photo of this Psalm with my iPad, to remind me to read it often. He knows our true hearts. When we trust Him, and commit everything we do to Him, He absolutely does help us, doesn’t He!
    May we all have the courage to be His broom, as he sweeps out the cobwebs and dust balls that have gathered over time. May we see Him and His law clearly. May we live accordingly.

    • Susan,

      I looked and looked on You Tube for a video with the words and music to Hold the Fort. I couldn’t find one I like so I didn’t post any. Now I know why, you were to post it. I sang through it with you. I hope everyone who comes does, too. Thanks for your lovely contribution, as always!

  3. I, too, love this psalm, Dawn. One of my favorites! I constantly need to be reminded to be still and wait patiently for the Lord. This is one of those Psalms that we had to memorize as children. Though it didn’t mean much to me back then, it does now, and I’m so thankful that it is hidden in my heart for those days when I need to fall onto it face first! We sang that hymn many times in my old fashioned church. I haven’t heard it even once since then Now it will be on my lips for the rest of the evening!

    • Cora,

      You’re here! How did you break the barrier? You are so savvy! Thanks for bringing up the idea of committing this to memory. I love it, now I just must get the old synapses to come alive. Where is that WD40?

Leave a Reply

