Silly, silver or squandering

In Luke 15 Jesus tells about rescuing a lost sheep, a silly lost sheep who was supposed to be following the shepherd, but s/he got distracted. Separated from the herd, the sheep was frightened, trembling, panicked! S/he felt LOST. Jesus did not end the storytelling there, “as if He sensed we’d miss the message He tells of a lost coin and then of a lost son.” (Christine Caine, Undaunted, p. 134).

IMG_0506

This week the bulletin cover at church cried out to me. Look at the expression on Jesus’ face as He reaches for the lost sheep. I said to Crystal who was sitting beside me in the pew. I am this lost sheep. Cindy, who was sitting beside Crystal, said, “I am the lost sheep, too.” During the announcement time at church one woman said, “I just  love coming here. I never feel inferior. I leave feeling so much better. ” We all laughed, glad that she felt we were all such wrecks that being with us made her feel better. She’ll never live this one down!

Seriously, we really are in a serious business. Saving the lost is very serious and I will end today with the stirring words of Christine Caine from her book Undaunted:

These stories, [Jesus] says, will remind you of something I want you always to remember: No matter how deep the pit or dark the night, I will always look for you and rescue you because I love you with an everlasting love. You are precious to me. Even when you mess up, even when you’re careless or mistaken or afraid or broken or weak, I still love you. Even when you are incapable of doing anything for anyone, including yourself, I still love you. And just as I come for you, I come for all those who have made mistakes, and those who are overlooked, for those devalued and despised. I come for all the wrong people–the careless and uncared for, the merry and miserable. I come for the lost, whether the lost is a silly sheep, a silver coin, or a squandering son. (p.135)

He is with us,

Dawn

6 comments on “Silly, silver or squandering

Leave a Reply

