A Follower’s Thanksgiving

I have a book on my dining table sitting by my Bible and my prayer book. I am afraid to read this book. I read the prologue and it made me cry, and I am wondering what it will do to me when I get to the meat of it. Sometimes I wonder about passages in the Bible like this one

21 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.

22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?

23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.  ~Matthew 7:21-23

and I wonder about those of us who live in the “have” parts of the world and can easily choose not think of the “have nots” if we don’t want to think of them. We can throw a little bit of money at their problems now and then in programs like monthly sponsorship, and spend 4 times as much eating out with friends.

Not a fan

Not A Fan by Kyle Idleman was recommended to my by my Spirit-filled sister, Barb. [Hmmmmm, interesting last name for this fellow.] This past year Barb has run a Red Cross trailer to help victims of flooding, she has kept vigil by her sister’s side as she lie critically ill. Barb spent January in Haiti and lead the children and teen programs for an Arab Christian Convention. She is ready at any moment to answer God’s call. She is not a fan. She is a follower of Christ. I know Kyle Idleman is going to ask me, “Are you a fan or are you a follower of Jesus?”

This Multitudes on Monday I give thanks for all His followers I know

# 1286 Barb, who is sold out for Jesus.

# 1287 Deb, who runs St Anthony’s Free Medical clinic in our town. When someone needs help, she is there.

# 1288 Jodi’s mom, who runs a safe house for girls coming out of the sex trafficking industry.

# 1289 Sister Henry, who runs the soup kitchen and gives space for the Free Medical Clinic in her building.

# 1290 Vicki, who drops whatever she is doing to help wherever. I’ve seen her redirect her day dozens of times if needed.

# 1291 Alex, who sits with the dying and ministers to their families for hours

# 1292 Ann, Cora, Susan, Andrea Dawn, Michelle, Sylvia and Danelle whose writings in cyberspace convince me they are followers.

# 1293 Tina, who spends every Wednesday praying for the sick and the rest of her week making home visits to care for them.

# 1294 Dr. Eister, who is retired, but maintains his license to practice medicine so he can help those at the Free Medical clinic and do medical missions in places that have no doctor.

# 1295 Andrea, who works tirelessly to help pregnant girls and women in trouble, adopting three siblings and trusting God to care for their needs.

# 1296 Karol, who is a true prayer warrior and has served the Lord in Belize for 30 + years.

# 1297 Marilyn and Willis, who are totally sold out to Jesus and give of themselves and their possessions regularly and heartily “as unto the Lord”.

# 1298 Autumn, who always goes to the hard places and loves where it isn’t lovely

# 1299 Carrie, who taught rough teens in hard places always asking the hard questions, wanting to make their lives better.

Thank you, Lord, for the Visible Invisible

Thank you, Ann, for introducing me to More Than Rubies.

God is with us,

Dawn

4 comments on “A Follower’s Thanksgiving

  1. Dawn, it is so easy to slip into the “fan” category, to sit back or look the other way. I have caught myself doing a lot of talking and not much doing. I’ve watched programs like “Secret Millionaire” and felt my heart excusing myself because I don’t have millions to give away. The heart can be so deceptive in making us think we have good excuses. But at the end of the day, when I stare into the darkened quietness of the night, I end up singing that hymn, “I wish I had given Him more!” There will be a day when we do look at His nail-scarred hands and will overwhelmingly say that, won’t we? So much of what seems important in the moment will fade and die. I’m so glad for people like you who keep eternity’s values in view and keep me on my toes!!!!!

    • Dearest Cora, You are the same to me, a real “keep me on my toes-er”. You are a part of the visible invisible to me, albeit by words on a computer screen. I was blessed to see your words today, as always. I go off to work now to live some more moments. As I work, I pray to see what is really important in each and every one of them.
      God’s richest blessings on you, Dear Sister.

  2. Dawn, I don’t think this would bother you so much if you were “just a fan.” When we get these promptings, the thing to do is respond—but not become bowed under slavishly and fearfully working our way into the Kingdom. It doesn’t “work” that way! (You know) It’s about grace, about how “the love of God” overflowing in our hearts “compels us” rather than terrorizes and cripples us. I think the closer we draw to Him the more we live out His love and generosity, maybe without even knowing it. Seems to me you do a lot more love-doing and -giving than you realize!

  3. Dear Dawn . . . it never ceases to amaze me how, in the spirit, we children of the Lord are so connected, so often on the same page in our thoughts and meditations. The other day I read this passage in this year’s journey through the Scriptures and I find myself returning to it more than a few times. It dovetails, for me at least, with the Scriptures you quote at the beginning of your post. These words of the LORD addressed to the sons of Josiah through the prophet Jeremiah:
    “Shall you reign because you enclose yourself in cedar? Did not your father (Josiah) eat and drink and do justice and righteousness? Then it was well with him. He judged (defended) the cause of the poor and needy; then it was well. Was not this knowing Me”, says the LORD.” (Jer: 22:15,16)
    BTW . . . I heartily concur with Sylvia . . . you ARE a lover, a giver, a shiner of the light, a beloved follower of our dear Saviour.

Leave a Reply

