A Truster’s Thanksgiving

IMG_0704My 7-year-old grandson and I were playing Scrabble. I love to play Scrabble with the little ones because there is so much chance involved in getting to Home that strategy has minimal effect. Thus, the small child and the adult are on an equal playing field and hopelessness is rarely an issue as the trailing player can take the lead in a matter of a few draws from the deck of playing cards. One never knows what a good move or a bad move is because the outcome depends so much on chance and issues beyond the control of the player. When someone at our house gets a ‘sorry’ card and sends a player near Home back to start we playfully do the ‘happy dance’ knowing that in a few turns the other will get to ‘do the dance’. So fun! A ‘sorry’ card would be a disaster if they were rare and unobtainable, but hope springs eternal with sweet revenge quickly at hand so that what looks like a bad event really can be joyful as everyone participates.

i_am_your_brother__joseph___by_budgiegirl-d4t0so7

Today in church we studied together about the time Joseph revealed himself to his brothers when they came to the food bank in Egypt during a terrible famine. Years before the jealous brothers had sold Joseph into slavery in Egypt and told their father a wild animal had killed him. This is many years later and Joseph is now second in command in all of Egypt and the brothers are coming to Egypt for food. The sermon point today was that the act of selling Joseph into slavery ended up saving the Jewish people from starvation. Really? selling one’s brother into slavery was a good thing? It seems so. Here is what Joseph had to say to his brothers about it,

…Do not be distressed and do not be angry with yourselves for selling me here, because it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you. For two years now there has been famine in the land, and for the next five years there will be no plowing and reaping. But God sent me ahead of you to preserve for you a remnant on earth and to save your lives by a great deliverance.So then, it was not you who sent me here, but God. He made me father to Pharaoh, lord of his entire household and ruler of all Egypt. Genesis 45:5-8

The preacher said we never know what is truly going on at any given moment. Sometimes it looks like we are winning, but that may not be the case, or, even if it is the case, that position can change in an instant. Sometimes it looks like we are losing very, very badly, but that, too, may not really be so. The truth is, “Only God knows.” Dear Reader, God is sovereign and I am coming to the realization that I must give thanks for everything because I can’t determine which are the good gifts and which are the bad gifts. They are simply gifts. I must be thankful for all, trusting that God is using each happening for good (Romans 8:28). It also occurred to me that the Bible doesn’t say He is working all things together for my good, but simply ‘for good’. Really, I am expendable. I am here to bring glory to God. What Carrie calls Earth School is getting my perspective more in line with God’s so that God’s Kingdom comes to earth…whatever that takes. And you know what? I ultimately win because He wins.

And so, I am thankful for

# 1300 sunshine

# 1301 rain

# 1302 health

# 1303 pain

# 1304 plenty

# 1305 lack

# 1306 closeness

# 1307 distance

# 1308 ease

# 1309 trials

# 1310 heat

# 1311 cold

# 1312 acceptance

# 1313 rejection

# 1314 life

# 1315 death

Do you see what I mean? No matter what state we are in, we are called to look to Jesus, be grateful to Him and rejoice in Him. Paul said that is the secret to being content.130901_0001 (Philippians 4:11-12) All the branches need to be concerned about is their connection to the vine. A branch not connected to the vine is a dead branch, but connected, we can do all things.

He is with us,

Dawn

3 comments on “A Truster’s Thanksgiving

  1. Dear Ones, I am in need of prayer. The evil one is very busy. I am engaged in an on-going “conversation” with a second cousin who is an atheist. This conversation is on facebook and has attracted his atheist friends. God’s will is in question and they see the ills of the world, namely dying children, as the reason there can be no good God. I am praying for the Holy Spirit to guide me. My cousin (he was my mother’s cousin) has decided that, in the Bible, every time God was angry, He killed innocent children. I was ready to tell him that God did not do that, but then I remembered the first born of Egypt. I don’t know that discussing the evil one will help, nor do I see them understanding the problem of free will. They just think that I am gullible. I am always amazed that those without faith think that those of us of faith are lacking in intelligence. One of his cronies decided that I must be a facebook friend that he keeps as a sort of “pet”. Jesus faced worse humiliation; I can certainly face this – but their souls are lost and I am sad for them. I am trying to evangelize, but feel as though I am a failure. I am praying, praying, praying….

  2. Dear Deb, I sent you a private message, but the essence is that convincing is not your responsibility, being connected to the vine and being a healthy branch is. That is how we convince the world – by ‘being’ in Him. Love you, Deb!

    PS You worry too much. Worry is a sign of a lack of trust. He can do ALL things and He may use us, but He may not. Trust Him.

  3. This makes such a difference in how one prays or praises.
    I see each circumstance as a God opportunity and I am in great anticipation to see what He will make of it… already knowing it will be to His Glory.
    Perfect love casts out all fear
    love is patient… does not seek its own… rejoices in the truth….
    makes believing a joy
    Amen to all you shared!

Leave a Reply

