The Road to the Promised Land

I was reading about the spies whom Moses appointed to scout out the Promised Land. All of the spies reported that the land was a great land flowing with milk and honey, but itJ&K was beyond their ability to capture. They reported that the land was full of giants and that they were too powerful for the Israelites to defeat. All agreed… except Caleb. Caleb said they should go now and take the land. God had promised it to them. Yes, indeed, He had. In Numbers 13:2 God declares, “the land of Canaan I give to the children of Israel”. Caleb believed God and circumstances did not deter him.

In Joshua 1:3-5, Joshua is called to lead the Israelites into the Promised Land:

I will give you every place where you set your foot, as I promised Moses. Your territory will extend from the desert to Lebanon, and from the great river, the Euphrates – all the Hittite country – to the Mediterranean Sea in the west. No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.

I got to thinking about that as I was relating the story to my life. God said He would give Joshua every place where he set his foot. My goodness, what He has promised me may just be a footstep away! Is it because I fail to “set my foot” on a promise that I do not yet realize it? Must I willingly move in that promise if I am to succeed? The step is a step of faith. In spite of giants, walls, enemies, bad attitudes, I must step. “Without faith it is impossible to please God.” (Hebrews 11:6a) I need not worry what will happen for He promised me, just as He promised Joshua, that “no one would be able to stand against me” and “He would never leave me nor forsake me” (Matthew 28:20).

WorkstationThis afternoon, as I contemplate working the hardest day of the week at my job, I rest in His promises to me. As Sherwood Day said at the funeral of his friend William Whiting Borden (a millionaire who gave up everything to become a missionary), “He felt that life consisted not in the “abundance of things that a man possesseth, but in the abundance of things which possess the man.”* I pray that the holy fire of God grips me, possesses me, consumes me so that no earthly thing deters me from advancing the Kingdom of God throughout the sphere of influence of my office.

Willing for His light to possess me,

Dawn

*Quote from Warren W. Wiersbe, 50 People Every Christian Should Know, 2009, Baker Books, p. 345.

 

4 comments on “The Road to the Promised Land

  1. I pray that the holy fire of God grips me, possesses me, consumes me so that no earthly thing deters me from advancing the Kingdom of God ~ love this prayer!
    My Shoshi always says, when a door seems to slam in her face or the enemy tries to discourage… She says, “God has brought me this far; He is not going to leave me now!”…. I love this persevering and believing…
    Praying with you Dawn for the lived out evidence in our lives for His glory and honour, for He is indeed worthy.

  2. Thank you for encouraging us to step out in faith on His promises! Surely they are sure footing! God bless you as He grips you today and praying He grip me as well.

Leave a Reply

