Fruit Flies and the American Presidency

fasting1

This morning at breakfast, my husband and I were reading Jeremiah 25:

You would not listen to me, says the Lord. You made me furious by worshiping your idols, bringing on yourselves all the disasters you now suffer. And now the Lord Almighty says: Because you have not listened to me, I will gather together all the armies of the north under King Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon, whom I have appointed as my deputy.

Whoa! My husband and I looked at each other when we read that last phrase “whom I have appointed as my deputy.” The ungodly, arrogant, self-centered¬† Nebuchadnezzar was God’s deputy.

Evangelical Christians are at a loss as to what to do about voting in this upcoming election. Neither candidate has a life of integrity. Neither is a Bible thumper. Either one could be Nebuchadnezzar or the president whom God’s Nebuchadnezzar will come against. America is in sad shape. She has turned her back on the Lord and, though warned repeatedly to do so, American people do not turn from the evil road we are traveling or from the evil things we are doing. God will restore America if she is repentant, but she is not. I can’t help but think that the judgment slated for Judah may foreshadow America’s future.

I will completely destroy you and make you an object of horror and contempt and a ruin forever. I will take away your happy singing and laughter. The joyful voices of bridegrooms and brides will no longer be heard. Your businesses will fail, and all your homes will stand silent and dark. This entire land will become a desolate wasteland. Israel and her neighboring lands will serve the king of Babylon for seventy years. Jeremiah 25:9-11

fruitflies Priscilla Shirer in her book “The Armour of God” uses the fruit fly as an analogy for satan and his minions.¬†Fruit flies don’t need an invitation to invade your house. All they need is an environment conducive for them and they invite themselves in. Rotten fruit is their opportunity. In the same way, satan and his minions cluster around the unrighteous environment that is America. They see our mess as their opportunity to push their way right in and take over. No wonder we do not have a clear choice in a presidential candidate! Satan has free reign in our country.

My son asked me the other day what God had to do with the election. I sent him to Romans 13:1. “Obey the government for God is the One Who put it there. All governments have been placed in power by God.” God has everything to do with everything. We need truth to know what is the right thing to do. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. James 4:17 Without it, we cannot walk in righteousness. We cannot do what is right. Indeed, we cannot even know right living. Truth comes from the Lord. We need a righteous leader. You cannot guide someone from a framework of error and expect right results.

I think a lot about what the Lord might have in store for America. I can’t dismiss the idea that He may have an evil fruit fly named Nebuchadnezzar in the wings. [No pun intended!]

 

 

Save

6 comments on “Fruit Flies and the American Presidency

  1. Has this e-mail reached the lady who referred to having heard Erma Maust? I am her daughter and would love to have some more conversation with you concerning the article you wrote concerning hearing her, her message on ‘choosing’ etc. So if I have found the lady involved, I will be eager for some more communication with you Miriam Achenbach

    • I am she. I was a very young preacher’s wife when I attended a retreat lead by your mother at Crystal Lake Camp in the Hughesville area. I, also, would love to talk with you. She changed my worldview. Are you on Facebook? Friend me and then I can send contact information to you through a private message.

  2. It is a solemn thought indeed~ knowing God’s ultimate purpose is always to restore us to a right relationship with Himself, though, gives me courage and hope and lets me not be afraid of what evil men can do to us. I can imagine Daniel and his three friends would have been quite discouraged to be under the ruling of an evil king; still they were faithful to their God and the results were outstanding. We have the same opportunity to trust God and stand alone with Him. May His Holy Name be glorified through all our lives as we live solely for Him. Praying for our brethren South of us~ holding you up in the Name of the Lord. His Name be Praised.

    • I am reading Jeremiah right now, Susan, and I am quite amazed that Jeremiah was to prophesy that the people were to obey their captors because God was with Nebuchednezzar. He said he would prosper those who went to Babylon and punish those who stayed in Jerusalem. This was new to me. No wonder Daniel and his friends did so well. They followed the plan!

Leave a Reply

