How can anyone understand their own way?

Proverbs 20:24: A person’s steps are directed by the LORD. How then can anyone understand their own way? (NIV)

Jonah Gregory sends me the above verse along with a message from his heart about God’s hand in my life and urges me to just keep trusting because He is leading and good will come from it all. He tells me not to worry for those who know me, know me. I am caught up short by a young father of two, half my age, exhorting me to trust in the Lord because how can anyone understand their own way?

How could I be so presumptuous to think that there has been some mistake? How could I be so presumptuous to think I do not need refined, molded, shaped? What lesson do I need to learn here? Jesus didn’t live His life in ease. Why should I expect to live mine in ease? I can’t know what’s around this curve, but Jonah has reminded me that it will work together for my good because I love God and I am called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28). Understanding is not promised, goodness is.

I am reading Dark Night of the Soul right now. It is helping me understand why the darkness comes. More on that later as I come to new understandings of His goodness. Thank you, Jonah!

Growing in grace,

Dawn