The first sin of the day

scary prayer

O Lord of Grace,

I have been hasty and short in private prayer.

O quicken my conscience to feel this folly

to bewail this ingratitude;

My first sin of the day leads into others.

and it is just that Thou shouldst withdraw Thy presence

from one who waited carelessly on Thee.

Keep me at all times from robbing Thee,

and from depriving my soul of Thy due worship;

~ The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions by Arthur Bennett, p. 90

A prayerless start of the day is sin. This insight cut through me like a knife.

12 For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Hebrews 4:12 (NKJV)

This poignant revelation sent me reeling. My heart is not in a good place when it does not check in with the Father before making any movements in my day. I must say morning comes IMG_4908too early for this woman who works 3 pm – 11 pm and has a 45 minute commute that lengthens her work day to 9 1/2 hours. The puppy begs for his morning walk about 7:30 am and most times I’m just getting my eyes open as I put his harness on to go out the door. I don’t groom myself. I am still asleep as I dress and somehow find shoes in the half dark morning. Once I have completed the half hour walk with Mickey, I am really awake and feeling good, but I haven’t prayed. My husband and I eat breakfast, read the Bible and then we read from the prayer book. This is ok, but I still haven’t worshiped or taken my personal issues to the throne of grace. Such intimacy in prayer is what I rob from God and of which I deprive my soul.

May I no longer ignore Him Who chooses to be with me,

Dawn